News / Posts
Logo With Tagline

This award is granted to the next of kin of Armed Forces personnel killed on operations or as a result of terrorism as a mark of national recognition for their loss.

Named the Elizabeth Cross, the award is available to the families of those who died in conflicts dating back to 1948, including the Korean War, the Malayan Emergency, the Falklands conflict and operations in Northern Ireland as well as recent operations in Iraq and Afghanistan.

Those receiving this honour receive two pinned sterling silver emblems, one full size for formal remembrance events and a miniature version for less formal events. The reverse of the cross will be engraved with the name of the person in whose memory it is granted. The emblems will be accompanied by a memorial scroll.

In a message to Her Armed Forces, Her Majesty The Queen said:

"This seems to me a right and proper way of showing our enduring debt to those who are killed while actively protecting what is most dear to us all. The solemn dignity which we attach to the names of those who have fallen is deeply engrained in our national character. As a people, we accord this ultimate sacrifice the highest honour and respect."

"I greatly hope that the Elizabeth Cross will give further meaning to the nation's debt of gratitude to the families and loved ones of those who have died in the service of our country. We will remember them all."

All grants relating to deaths after the year 2000 are dealt with centrally by the Ministry of Defence. However, for deaths prior to that date applications for this recognition must be made by the next of kin.

Recent events suggest that there may be RAMC family members who are unaware that they could qualify for this award as their losses occurred prior to the year 2000. To ensure that all know that the grant is still available, this information has been passed to all Branches of the RAMC Association and copied to relevant social media pages.

If anyone knows of an individual who may be eligible, the necessary form to make the submission can be obtained from:

MOD Medal Office
Innsworth House
Imjin Barracks

Alternatively, the form may be downloaded from the MOD Website

Col (Retd) Ken Millar
National Chair
RAMC Association

The RAMC Association

William Boog LeishmanIn 1925, the RAMC Association was formed to further the camaraderie of WW1 Corps veterans with Sir William Leishman being the first President. There are now some 25 branches around UK with a predominantly veteran membership although most serving Corps members also are members centrally. The Association has traditionally been supported by Corps Funds and especially for the expenses of the branch standards and standard bearers.